gb-users mailing list archive
<-- Chronological -->
Extended
<-- Thread -->

RE: Remote access filter blocks

To: "'Joe Biniskiewicz'" <joeb_at_joeb_dot_com>, GB Users <gb-users_at_gta_dot_com>
Subject: RE: Remote access filter blocks
From: "Griffiths, Jeff" <jgriffiths_at_SWFLLP_dot_com>
Date: Thu, 9 Mar 2000 08:45:55 -0500

All of the IP addresses in your logs are owned by @home.
Reverse DNS shows 24.0.0.205 to .207 is a mailer group on the west coast. (mx1-w.mail.home.com, mx2..., mx3...)
Reverse DNS is not available for 24.0.95.51 to .56  although they are all up (I was able to PING them)
Reverse DNS shows 24.2.2.197 to .199 us a mailer group on the east coast. (mx2-e.mail.home.com, mx3..., mx4...)
 
The interesting thing is the FLAG on all your packets in your log = 0x10.  0x10 = ACK.
Based on this info, I would tend to think that these are mailers trying to reconnect to you because of timeouts (although that does not explain the ACK) or you are being port scanned (which also doesn't explain the ACK very well since most scans are based on SYN).
 
I'm not sure if it is possible to do a port scan based on ACK with any known "security" tools, but NMAP (and other freely available "hack" tools) can set its source port to anything you want and also send from multiple decoy IP addresses.  You can also adjust the speed of the packet sends anywhere from milliseconds to hours (to interdict detection by intrusion alert devices).  Hackers like to use ports 25, 53 & 80 as source ports because most FW filters would let that info pass if they were not stateful or simply were misconfigured.  I'm not saying that this IS the situation in your case, just that it is something you can consider.
 
Regards,
Jeff

-----------------------------------------------------------------
Jeffery Griffiths               <jgriffiths_at_swfllp_dot_com>
Network Engineer
Schreeder Wheeler & Flint, LLP
Atlanta, GA  USA
-----------------------------------------------------------------

 
-----Original Message-----
From: Joe Biniskiewicz [mailto:joeb_at_joeb_dot_com]
Sent: Wednesday, March 08, 2000 5:49 PM
To: GB Users
Subject: Re: Remote access filter blocks

Send postings to: gb-users_at_gta_dot_com Access the list archives at: http://www.gnatbox.com/gb-users/ ---------------------------------- My apologies if I'm missing your points, but I believe that you've all missed my point.  Allow me to elaborate and maybe we can start over again:
  • I do have a local mail server behind the GB, and it is properly configured and operational, using the SMTP Relay feature of GB 3.0.2 as well as three RBL's.  I check the logs every morning to determine which hosts were denied from sending mail to me.  I use VisualRoute to trace to their SMTP server and do a quick lookup on their domain and host names.  I monitor this closely to be sure that no "good" mail was rejected via MAPS, and if it was, I stop using that RBL.  After all, it is better to let ten guilty men go free rather than to convict one wrongly.  Once I have performed that morning ritual, I put down my cup of coffee and get to work.
  • I am the only user behind my GB, though I am a power user ;-)   My point is that nobody is checking their mail from my PRO network, and even if they were, their traffic would be "replies" (ACK vs SYN packets), so that would not be a problem.  Even if it were the case, the Destination port on the remote mail server for POP3 is port 110, not 25.
  • We are talking about a SOURCE PORT of 25, not a DESTINATION PORT of 25.  I have several OBJECTS established which are used in filters that deny all traffic from entire ISP's in third world countries from which I will have no meaningful dialogue.  I can readily see the difference in my logs between traffic that was denied access to DESTINATION PORT 25.  In fact, please consider that I have a fairly good understanding of services, subnets and filters.
  • If you take a moment to look at the logs, you will quickly see a pattern.  The pattern is that when traffic was unsuccessful from a given host, the originator attempted communication from a different IP address later.  I've pasted the log to the end of this message for easy reference.  Perhaps that is a bank of mail servers, but again, why a source port of 25 with a random destination port.  How could they possibly hope to connect?
At 05:39 AM 3/8/2000 -0800, Joe Biniskiewicz wrote:
Can anyone give me an explanation why every day I see entries in my logs for hosts that try to connect with my GB using a "source" port of 25 and a random destination port?  I fully expect GB to block these packets, as it does, but why are they trying on a source port of 25?  What is their intent?
-joeb

Mar  7 09:34:16 192.168.2.254 FILTER: Remote access filter blocks: TCP ed0 [24.0.0.205/25]->[209.239.242.112/13883] l=0 f=0x10.

At 09:38 AM 3/8/2000 -0500, Michael W. Burden wrote:
Chances are that someone at your office is retrieving their personal
email (Does anyone at your office have a cable modem?  home.com  is
the domain used by  @Home  which provides cable modem services to
cable companies such as  AT&T  and  Roadrunner).

At 10:59 AM 3/8/2000 -0600, Suresh Ganu wrote:
Systems coming in on port 25 are SMTP mailers.

This is a well known port and can potentially be used by Spammers to relay
junk e-mail from your Servers.

As someone suggested, it is also being used by 'smart' users to receive
personal e-mail like hotmail.

At 12:27 PM 3/8/2000 -0500, Michael W. Burden wrote:
One thing to note is that this will only work if you don't
host your own primary email server (the one indicated by
the  MX  record for your domain.)

If you host your own primary email server, then your SMTP
server needs to be accessible from anywhere on the Internet
in order for you to receive email.

Mar  7 09:34:16 192.168.2.254 FILTER: Remote access filter blocks: TCP ed0
[24.0.0.205/25]->[209.239.242.112/13883] l=0 f=0x10.
Mar  7 23:24:12 192.168.2.254 FILTER: Remote access filter blocks: TCP ed0
[24.0.0.207/25]->[209.239.242.112/14710] l=0 f=0x10.
Mar  7 07:10:56 192.168.2.254 FILTER: Remote access filter blocks: TCP ed0
[24.0.0.208/25]->[209.239.242.112/13850] l=0 f=0x10.
Mar  8 00:14:02 192.168.2.254 FILTER: Remote access filter blocks: TCP ed0
[24.0.0.208/25]->[209.239.242.112/14761] l=0 f=0x10.
Mar  7 07:40:38 192.168.2.254 FILTER: Remote access filter blocks: TCP ed0
[24.0.95.51/25]->[209.239.242.112/13858] l=0 f=0x10.
Mar  7 15:36:04 192.168.2.254 FILTER: Remote access filter blocks: TCP ed0
[24.0.95.51/25]->[209.239.242.112/13987] l=0 f=0x10.
Mar  7 21:45:37 192.168.2.254 FILTER: Remote access filter blocks: TCP ed0
[24.0.95.52/25]->[209.239.242.112/14628] l=0 f=0x10.
Mar  8 02:01:49 192.168.2.254 FILTER: Remote access filter blocks: TCP ed0
[24.0.95.53/25]->[209.239.242.112/14820] l=0 f=0x10.
Mar  7 08:12:23 192.168.2.254 FILTER: Remote access filter blocks: TCP ed0
[24.0.95.56/25]->[209.239.242.112/13862] l=0 f=0x10.
Mar  7 17:24:55 192.168.2.254 FILTER: Remote access filter blocks: TCP ed0
[24.2.2.197/25]->[209.239.242.112/14006] l=0 f=0x10.
Mar  7 20:03:23 192.168.2.254 FILTER: Remote access filter blocks: TCP ed0
[24.2.2.198/25]->[209.239.242.112/14292] l=0 f=0x10.
Mar  7 22:40:00 192.168.2.254 FILTER: Remote access filter blocks: TCP ed0
[24.2.2.198/25]->[209.239.242.112/14648] l=0 f=0x10.
Mar  7 20:50:39 192.168.2.254 FILTER: Remote access filter blocks: TCP ed0
[24.2.2.199/25]->[209.239.242.112/14513] l=0 f=0x10. ---------------------------------------------- To Unsubscribe: send mail to majordomo_at_gta_dot_com with "unsubscribe gb-users your_email_address in the body of the message
<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>

Global Technology Associates, Inc